24 SEPT
29 SEPT
2019

WEDNESDAY 25 SEPTEMBER

TITLE: WILDFLOWER WALK AROUND CONRHENNY PLANTATION – WITH SIMON SMART

TIME: 2.00 PM – 4.00 PM
LOCATION: CONRHENNY PLANTATION, CREG-NY-BAA BACK ROAD
COST: TICKETS £4.00

To celebrate the release of a new book – Isle of Man Wildflower Walks – author Simon Smart, who runs Wildflowers of the Isle of Man, leads a walk around the beautiful Conrhenny Plantation to talk about the Island’s plants and flowers, including some rare species. The walk begins from Conrhenny Plantation car park and proceeds through the plantation, looking at the plants and flowers to be found along the way and their uses, with species hopefully to include Lady’s Mantle and Woundworts. The footpaths are wide and well-maintained and should be easy for most walkers, but please wear suitable footwear and clothing for the weather conditions.

Event sponsored by Wildflowers of the Isle of Man

TITLE: THE FLOOD BOOK LAUNCH – AUTHOR RACHEL BENNETT

TIME: 6.00 PM – 7.15 PM
LOCATION: FAMILY LIBRARY, WESTMORELAND ROAD, DOUGLAS
COST: FREE

We are thrilled to host the launch of a new novel from Rachel Bennett, who has been involved with Litfest from its earliest days. Published by HarperCollins, The Flood is ‘a gripping, atmospheric crime novel about a town on the edge of collapse, and a murder that shakes the community. Perfect for fans of THE DRY.’ Rachel will talk about the book – and happily sign copies!

harpercollins.com/author/cr-133844/rachel-bennett

Event sponsored by The Family Library (familylibrary.im)

TITLE: SLACKER-IN-LAW – WITH POET MARK GRIST

TIME: 8.00 PM – 9.30 PM
LOCATION: VAGABONDS RUGBY CLUB, BALLAFLETCHER ROAD, BRADDAN
COST: £10.00

Performance poet Mark Grist returns to Manx Litfest for the first time since 2014 to present his new show… Slacker-in-Law! How far would you go to impress your future mother-in-law? Mark brings a show packed full of comedy, poems, rap and... pugs? Featuring an unpredictable choose-your-own-adventure poem with over 6 million outcomes and a hip hop journey through all the baddies of your childhood, he’s working his ass off, but will it ever be enough? Mark is an ex-English teacher, poet, battle rapper and ‘viral sensation’ (The Sun) with over 20 million views for his poetry and rap battle videos online. He starred in Channel 4’s ‘Mr Dew’s School for boys’, Redbull TV’s ‘Mark Grist Battles the World’ and has recently produced commissions for BBC Radio 1, BBC 2, Channel 4 and Google.

markgrist.com