Olive Lamming Writing Prize 2019 - winners announced!

Sep 30, 2019 2:19:00 PM

The winners of the relaunched Olive Lamming Writing Prize were announced on the final day of Manx Litfest 2019, as part of the Short Story Slam.

Our congratulations go to:

Best poem - joint winners: Annie Kissack for Saturated, and Angela Skitt for Dyad Moon

Best short story - Gemma Varnom for The Mourning Tide

The overall prize of £500, kindly sponsored by Ramsey Crookall, which was to go to either the best poem or best short story, was shared between the three winners.

We were honoured to have Olive's daughters, Alison McDonald and Bobbie Lamming, along with Olive's niece, Joanna Crookall, at the event to hear the winners announced. Three of our four judges were also in the audience - Janet Lees and Usha Kishore, who judged the poetry competition, and Elizabeth Brooks, who judged the short story competition, alongside Rona Halsall, who couldn't be with us on the day.

From within their shortlists, the judges also awarded some highly commended entries:

Poetry - Joe Holland, for I Feel Tuesday Like an Anvil; Annie Kissack for Bellissimo at the Garden Party; and Jackie Morrey-Grace for Digital Re-Mastery

Short story - Vicky Lloyd-West for The Quantity of Quiggins; Georgia Wedgwood Mayne for Mums & Tots; and Caroline Devlin for After the Horse Has Bolted

Our sincere thanks to everyone who took the time to enter the competition, to our judges, and to Joanna, Alison and Bobbie for their ongoing support, and to Muriel Garland for her admin assistance.

The Olive Lamming Writing Prize will return in 2020 - stay tuned!

Picture caption: From left, Annie Kissack, Angela Skitt, Joanna Crookall from Ramsey Crookall, and Gemma Varnom


< Back to news